民权倡导者和律师塔尼莎沙利文发起竞选马萨诸塞州国务卿

2022 年 1 月 18 日——今天,全国有色人种协进会波士顿分会的律师兼主席塔尼莎·沙利文宣布参选马萨诸塞州联邦国务卿。

在她的竞选启动视频中,沙利文强调了当下的紧迫性。她强调马萨诸塞州需要成为保护和扩大基本投票权的领导者,并指出国务卿必须发挥关键作用,为居民创造更多机会,让他们有意义地参与我们的民主。除了投票权,她说下一任部长必须做更多的事情来利用办公室的权力来确保透明度、问责制,并为英联邦的每个人扩大经济机会。

“我们正处于民主的转折点,我们面临的挑战需要采取紧急的集体行动,”沙利文说。 “鉴于阻挠主义继续阻碍联邦在投票权方面的行动,州领导人有责任保护和扩大每个马萨诸塞州居民参与我们政府的权利,并展示一个真正具有包容性的代议制民主看起来像尤其是现在,我们不能接受渐进主义。这一刻值得更多。我们的社区应该得到更多。而且,我们将一起提供更多。

“我已准备好正式开始这项运动,并期待与马萨诸塞州的居民联系,讨论国务卿如何帮助我们的政府更容易接近,努力扩大经济机会,以及我们可以一起做些什么来建立一个更强大、更有活力和更广泛的民主,”沙利文说。

沙利文在布罗克顿长大,在波士顿有着深厚的家庭渊源,她认为父母的榜样是她向她灌输了对公共服务的坚定承诺,这种承诺贯穿了她作为律师的整个职业生涯,在她担任全国有色人种协进会波士顿分会负责人期间,以及导致她决定跑步。她的父亲在波士顿公立学校工作,于 2014 年退休,担任约翰·D·奥布莱恩特学校的校长。她的母亲在开设自己的小企业(家庭日托)之前曾在媒体工作,并作为新英格兰黑人页面的出版商帮助连接和扩大新英格兰黑人拥有的企业。

沙利文毕业于弗吉尼亚大学,之后获得波士顿学院的法律和商业研究生学位。她的大部分法律职业生涯都在代表生命科学公司,并将她的志愿服务和公益工作的重点放在扩大机会和改善马萨诸塞州工人、小企业主和社区的福祉上。在担任全职律师期间,沙利文于 2017 年担任全国有色人种协进会波士顿分会主席的志愿者角色,这是全国有色人种协进会的第一个特许分会。在她任职期间,全国有色人种协进会波士顿分会深入参与了在波士顿和整个英联邦促进种族、经济和社会正义的重要努力。

有兴趣了解更多关于 Tanisha 和她的竞选活动的人可以访问www.TanishaSullivan.com并在推特脸书Instagram的上关注她的@Tanisha4MA。

今天就参与进来,帮助建立这一运动,为所有人建立一个强大、充满活力和广泛的民主!

Civil Rights Advocate and Attorney Tanisha Sullivan Launches Campaign for Massachusetts Secretary of State

January 18, 2022 – Today, Tanisha Sullivan, an attorney and President of the Boston Branch of the NAACP, announced her candidacy for Secretary of State for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

In her campaign launch video, Sullivan emphasized the urgency of the moment. She highlighted the need for Massachusetts to be a leader in the fight to protect and expand fundamental voting rights, and pointed to the critical role the Secretary of State must play in creating more opportunities for residents to meaningfully engage in our democracy. Beyond voting rights, she said the next Secretary must do more to use the powers of the office to ensure transparency, accountability, and expand economic opportunity for everyone in the Commonwealth. 

“We are at an inflection point in our democracy, and the challenges before us demand urgent, collective action,” said Sullivan. “In light of obstructionism that continues to stand in the way of federal action on voting rights, it falls to state leaders to protect and expand the right of every Massachusetts resident to participate in our government, and to show what a truly inclusive, representative democracy looks like. Especially now, we cannot accept incrementalism. This moment deserves more. Our communities deserve more. And, together, we’ll deliver more. 

“I’m ready to officially begin this campaign, and look forward to connecting with residents across Massachusetts to talk about how the Secretary of State can help make our government more accessible, work to expand economic opportunity, and what we can do together to build a stronger, more vibrant, and more expansive democracy,” said Sullivan.

Raised in Brockton and with deep family roots in Boston, Sullivan credits her parents’ example with instilling in her the deep commitment to public service that has continued throughout her career as an attorney, her tenure as the head of the NAACP Boston Branch, and that led to her decision to run. Her father spent his career working in the Boston Public Schools, retiring in 2014 as the school leader at the John D. O’Bryant School. Her mother worked in media before opening her own small business – a home daycare – and helping connect and amplify Black-owned businesses across New England as publisher of the Black Pages of New England. 

Sullivan graduated from the University of Virginia before receiving graduate degrees in both law and business from Boston College. She has spent the majority of her legal career representing life sciences companies and has focused her volunteer service and pro bono work on expanding opportunity and improving the wellbeing of workers, small business owners, and communities across Massachusetts. While working full time as an attorney, in 2017 Sullivan took on the volunteer role of President of the Boston Branch of the NAACP, the first chartered branch of the NAACP in the country. During her tenure, the NAACP Boston Branch has been deeply involved in critical efforts to advance racial, economic, and social justice in Boston and across the Commonwealth.

Those interested in learning more about Tanisha and her campaign can visit www.TanishaSullivan.com and follow her @Tanisha4MA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram

Chip in today to help build this movement for a strong, vibrant, and expansive democracy for all!